I never thought I would ever fall victim to a mentally abusive relationship. 

I would have never thought I was that person… and I wouldn’t have ever suspected I did until I spoke to the other girl. She’s about 9 years younger than me but she understood. I thought it was me and I always felt like I needed to fix myself. I was so unhappy for about 2 years while we were together  and I thought it was me. I thought I needed therapy for anxiety and depression. He drove her to go to therapy too. I missed him so bad when we broke up last summer that I went after him. He convinced me there was no one else and he wanted to get his life together. What coward. He couldn’t just say it. I told him I’d leave him alone if there was someone else.  When I tried to give up I let him continue slip back into my life. I don’t know what a person like that has a hold over me. I even tried to make it work after he cheated on my abs got me an STI.  To be honest, he’s not my type physically, he was really boring and one dimensional, he never really gave off good energy, and I was willing to spend the rest of my life with bad sex. Seriously, that’s how much he compelled me to stay with him. Logically, it doesn’t make sense. And frankly, to be petty– I can’t believe he had the nerve to cheat on me for so long and made me suffer 3 years of bad sex. 😪

I never thought I would ever fall victim to a mentally abusive relationship. 

Leave a comment